“Your Redbubble account has been suspended”

So, just like with Youtube, my Redbubble account is gone. I actually have no idea with this one, the list of possibilities above is too broad and they haven’t reached out with anything else; I hadn’t uploaded anything new to the platform for a couple of years and only ever made a few sales (Youtube kicked my off for reading a document; the upload had been on my channel for a couple of years). This is more a concern for anyone else that might be more reliant on the space for sales and their income – Redbubble can suspend your account for whatever reason.

Of course I could jump through the hoop that is “Submit an Appeal” but I don’t know what I’m defending or arguing against, plus, their system wanted a picture of my face, which seems odd considering this isn’t required for signing up in the first place. This also makes me think of mug-shots.

Perhaps someone simply clicked a ‘Report’ button and claimed a piece of work wasn’t my own. Alas, if a platform can so coldly cut someone off then I’m glad to be apart from it.

“Reasons people might report a work… a reasonable person would find it offensive or consider it a personal attack.”

That doesn’t sound like a reasonable person to me.

Also, be warned:

“…one of the side affects of suspending an account, is that it will automatically block any other accounts our system finds to be connected with it or that appears to be the suspended member signing up a new account. This process is automated and based on a number of different factors. This can only be avoided by the original account avoiding suspension in the first place.”

You can find some of my stuff on Society6 and Zazzle:

society6.com/bmhonline/designs

www.zazzle.co.uk/store/bmhonline/products

4 comments

  1. This happened to me too a couple of years ago. All the photos and designs were my own. No copyright material was used at all. So no idea why my shop was taken down.

    What makes me laugh is there’s a lot of products that do breach copyright, yet the “artists” are getting away with it.

    I’ve had to take down a Redbubble account for work because other users were stealing copyright protected designs and making money from it.

    Cyber law needs to protect creators and prosecute offenders. Not the other way around.

  2. I had a video removed by YouTube. Their lack of explanation and couldn’t care less attitude could be upsetting if you let it get to you. I have to say, though, that when I complained to WordPress about someone stealing the content from one of my posts and including it in their own, looking as their own, WordPress gave them a clear explanation as to why they removed their post.

  3. Sorry this happened to you. Your photos are great.

    This happens quite a lot lately on selling platforms and it’s getting worse. Individuals and certain companies steal the artists’ designs and then the actual artists’ accounts are closed for infringement. 

Leave a comment