Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

“What scene in history is this?”

Reaching p.3598 of my set of Arthur Mee’s Children’s Encyclopedia, being on target to finish Volume 5 by the end of the year, I’m faced with six “descriptions of some famous scenes in history. Let us see if we can discover what they are [it says].” It then tells me the solutions can be found in Section 30 of Group 18.

Finding the sections and groups can be a little tricky, especially when the term “Section” seems to get interchanged with “Chapter” and sometimes then not only requiring one to flick back and forth through the present volume, but sometimes turning to others too (I’d encounter this issue more if I ever used the Index in Volume 10, but that volume in my slightly battered collection is particularly fragile). It turns out on this occasion that the particular page (3723) is the last in this volume, and is missing, torn out at some point. I wonder if there was perhaps a violent disagreement regarding the answers to the History Quiz and the page was torn out in protest.

So, lets figure this one out together! Here follows are the six scenes in history. Answers on a postcard in the comments box below. [History isn’t my strong suit, although some of these scenes sound familiar and are likely ones I’ve read about from the Encyclopedia itself.] No cheating: Google wasn’t invented when these Encyclopedias were published 😉

 

10 comments on ““What scene in history is this?”

  1. taskerdunham
    22 October, 2017

    I couldn’t identify them all without cheating – not google because I do have p3723-4. Shall I scan and send? I bet I got more than the youth of today would though.

    • Brian
      23 October, 2017

      I would love a copy of the missing page if it’s not too much trouble 😀

      • taskerdunham
        23 October, 2017

        emailed to hotmail account

      • Brian
        24 October, 2017

        Wonderful, thank you!

  2. Sarada Gray
    24 October, 2017

    1. The Magna Carta 2: not sure – emigres to America? 3: Bonnie Prince Charlie 4: Martin Luther’s Articles 5: Drake being informed of the Spanish Armada coming 6: Napoleon exiled to Elba

    • Brian
      25 October, 2017

      You may have got your Edwards mixed up for #3, but I’m impressed!

  3. Sarada Gray
    25 October, 2017

    Edwards? I didn’t mention any Edwards

  4. Pingback: What Is Wrong In This Room | Tasker Dunham's Yorkshire Memories

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 22 October, 2017 by in Books, History, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
