Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Earth Day and Spring

It was Earth Day yesterday and in addition to this I have been enjoying comings of spring.

When I moved into my own place a few years ago the garden was somewhat overgrown; okay, “somewhat” is an understatement but I have to remind myself about how it was like; wall-to-wall brambles aside from a narrow pathway someone had cut in order to check out the septic tank.

With the help of my brother we gradually cleared out all the brambles and my garden magically transformed into something that does indeed resemble a garden; I’m in no way green-fingered, anything I have attempted to grow from seed has not done so well, so I kind of try and let my garden do its own thing when it comes to what plants are going to grow. We did manage to dig out some bushes (okay two of them were pulled out with the aid of my neighbour’s little digger) and transplanted in a more suitable location and the bulk of these have done well; even the ones I thought would surely die due to the lack of roots left on them have sprouted their dandelion-resembling yellow flowers. I then shuffled some rocks around the area surrounding their base and formed a little wall, before scattering some grass seed (this being the only seed that has done well and I now have a patch of lawn there).

Each year I’ve enjoyed the arrival of spring; out on the roads when cycling along I recognise the changing phases of colour appearing; first the snowdrops, then the daffodils, and then, or rather, now, the bluebells; my garden experiences the same. It feels somewhat magical because I didn’t put these things there, they just appear of their own accord.

In the distance, my “mound of golden daffodils”

In addition to the flowers coming and going I’ve also had a variety of wildlife in my garden too. When I moved in there was a birdbath to which I attached a bird-feed holder. It was a shame when the birdbath got decapitated by over zealous roofers, but I constructed a new holder for the bird-feeder and the birds were non-the-wiser.

I’ve never been a birdwatcher by any stretch of the term; I can recognise a robin, blue-tit and swallow, but I’ve gradually learned what a few other visitors are too, especially when something new and colourful… or entertaining arrives. This year I’ve had a chaffinch come-a-knocking on my window; he does this numerous times throughout the day, on a few different windows, it turned out he sees his reflection in the glass and deems it a threat and attacks. Some would find this annoying; I find it amusing, although at first I thought he was being sociable and charming to me.

Then I spotted a similar-sized bird in the garden with striking yellow stripes on its wings, and when the next day I saw the red colouring on its face I was informed it was a goldfinch; I have now seen the pair of them. I love seeing the pairs of birds; I had a pair of collared doves visiting regularly and was somewhat saddened when there was then only one.

I’ve also seen a pair of rabbits playing in my garden. At first it was only one young one that I would see regularly throughout the day – this is new feature to my garden this year and I was childishly informing people on the run up to Easter that I had the Easter bunny residing in my garden. He and the chaffinch put a smile on my face each and everyday, even when I saw the rabbit sniffing round my much-enjoyed rhubarb plant I didn’t wish him gone.

That rhubarb plat was again something that was already there but after doing the final bit of heavy-handed clearing towards the end of last year, I feared it had been left un-protected by the surrounding weeds and perhaps wouldn’t survive the winter, but I’m very pleased to see that the leaves have suddenly appeared again and it’s visibly growing larger by the day; it will be soon time for more daily doses of rhubarb crumble; yummy.

2 comments on “Earth Day and Spring

  1. taskerdunham
    23 April, 2017

    Good to see a wildlife-friendly garden. More and more in our village are covering both front and back with flagstones. People just don’t seem to want to spend time gardening any more. When it’s house after house it makes it into a wildlife desert. Gardens don’t have to be tidy and sterile. Ours is always slightly overgrown with a deliberate wild section, but it’s great because we get butterflies, breeding birds and families of hedgehogs.

    • Brian
      23 April, 2017

      Oh I love hedgehogs; I always think a garden is blessed to have one of those. I’ll certainly keep my garden “wildlife-friendly”, it’s a source of entertainment.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 23 April, 2017 by in Green Living, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , .
