Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Smart Meters

The Board of the American Academy of Environmental Medicine opposes the installation of wireless ‘smart meters’ in homes and schools based on a scientific assessment of the current medical literature (references available on request). Chronic exposure to wireless radiofrequency radiation is a preventable environmental hazard that is sufficiently well documented to warrant immediate preventative public health action.” – AAEM

One year after I had my electricity meter changed from a card meter to a standard one (at my request) I was contacted by my electricity supplier who told me my meter needed changing because it was now “out of date” and they asked me to get in touch to arrange a date. “It’s only a year old!” I screamed at the letter, taking no further action.

From that point I questioned these so-called “Smart Meters” and why anyone would “need” one, here is an overview.

  • “A smart meter will afford you better control over your electricity usage.” I’m one person, living on my own, I know exactly what in my home is using my electricity; knowing this has no bearing on my usage. Even if you are a family of six, what difference does it make, knowing?

  • If you want to save electricity turn your stuff off.

  • Mass producing and installing millions of these “Smart Meters”, and disposal of the old ones, will not be kind on the environment. Okay, this is a “long term” thing I hear you say; how long term?

  • Apparently, so far, 5 million smart meters have been installed, but the government in the UK wants 53 million by 2020, which will cost £11billion or on average £200 per house (twice as much as in Italy and Spain). I reckon I could get my electricity usage alone for 1 year down to £200.

  • A smart meter means not only is electricity delivered through the wiring in your home, but data, commands, and control too; you really think this is all for your benefit? – If this were so then why not install your own computer-controlled smart system as these have been commercially available for over a decade.

  • I’ve heard of smart meters going wrong and incorrectly recording and reporting electricity usage – so much for something being up-to-date.

  • It seems we’re installing these meters before the devices that will benefit them are widely used.

In David Icke’s talk on Agenda 21 which I documented recently [link], he reveals that opening quote at 55:00:

The board of AAEM … opposes the installation of smart meters in homes and schools based on scientific assessment of the current medical literature [which] raises credible questions about genetic and cellular effects, hormonal effects, male fertility, blood/brain barrier damage and increased risk of certain types of cancers from RF or ELF levels similar to those emitted from smart meters. The Board …. finds it unacceptable from a public health standpoint to implement this technology until these serious medical concerns are resolved. We consider a moratorium on installation of wireless smart meters to be an issue of the highest importance.” – The American Academy of Environmental Medicine.

This pretty much echoes what Barrie Trower says about the use of Wifi technology in general, in particular when it is used in schools. Trower, apparently “a British physicist who was a microwave weapons expert and who worked for the Royal Navy and the British Secret Service, [who] talks about the health effects of WiFi and other forms of microwave.” It seems Smart Meters are the new Wifi and mobile phone radiations, which have gone largely ignored by the masses.

I try and avoid using WiFi equipment in my home, and when I do then it’s only on during the day and not while I’m sleeping. I had a client that noticed his inability to sleep with his WiFi router next to his bed; he couldn’t hear it giving of a feint buzzing noise but I could, and even when we can’t heard the noise emitted by electrical equipment doesn’t mean it’s not giving off some noise that is affecting us. This affect may well be accumulative and has been noted for inducing stress. Even with non-WiFi computer equipment that I leave on throughout the night I have considered the usage of this and the effect it has on my sleep, in particular my dreams, or rather, my inability to dream or recall my dreams.

I also pondered computer security with regards to the use of Smart Meters since some of us use these HomePlug systems to get our internet connection from one room to another. Not only is the electricity for devices transmitted over the power cables but data too, and a smart meter gives yet another means to tap into this.

The following video lacks any evidence in itself, but it highlights the concerns that have been around since 2012 or so in the US when Smart Meters there were starting to be rolled out.

For information pertaining to how far back this issue has existed we turn to a talk by Barrie Trower:

EDIT: I later watched a Youtube video [link] about a conspiracy theory regarding the Smart Grid in which MrCati ends with the following:

smart_grid

Sources:

AAEM: http://emfsafetynetwork.org/american-academy-of-environmental-medicine-calls-for-a-halt-to-wireless-smart-meters

Agenda 21 – David Icke: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bMeXSlGJZYc

5 comments on “Smart Meters

  1. taskerdunham
    27 March, 2017

    I’ve had this. I said “I don’t want one unless it’s compulsory.” They asked why. I said I didn’t want to discuss it. They asked why. I said that to tell them would be to discuss it. That really annoyed them. You’ve just increased my list of reasons for not wanting one.

    We have a gadget supplied several years ago when we changed supplier. It clips on the electricity meter and transmits to a small display device. It shows our usage now and cumulatively that day. That’s no help whatsoever. However, it is helpful in that you can see whether someone is still in the shower so you know not to turn the tap on which reduces the shower water flow. Other than that it simply clutters up a surface and occupies a socket.

    I’m also told (not sure if it’s right) that if you change supplier you may have to change your smart meter.

    Don’t they also measure gas usage as well? Not sure how that would work here. Our gas meter is in the garage next to the metal up and over door where there is no phone signal.

    • Brian
      28 March, 2017

      “They asked why. I said I didn’t want to discuss it. They asked why.” I laughed. I had a similar situation when my brother wanted my help with his business idea, I didn’t want anything to do with it, yet he still wanted to talk to me about it; he didn’t understand that that still involved me. And when services suppliers want me to switch but I know it’s a waste of time, so why even talk about it when they phone?

      I too have heard about maybe needing to change smart meter when changing supplier. They need an industry standard meter otherwise this this will make consumers more reluctant to switch suppliers for better deals.

      As for monitoring gas usage they’ll just connect the meter up wherever there is a nearby electrical source; the readout can be somewhere else, no phone signal required (they’ll find a way if they want the data).

      • taskerdunham
        31 March, 2017

        Should have said – there’s no electricity supply in the garage either. I’ve just been searching for information on how smart gas meters work, and apparently they are battery powered, and the battery lasts several years (so what happens then?).

        They do use mobile phone technology to send the data, and even have their own network. If there is no signal then they can’t get remote readings. According to the Ovo web site [ https://www.ovoenergy.com/ovo-answers/topics/smart-technology/smart-meters/how-do-my-smart-meters-communicate.html ] it’s the electricity meter that sends the data. It collects readings from the gas meter through a Home Area Network and transmits them, so perhaps it would work in our house after all. This, rather than being reassuring, makes me even more reluctant to have one.

  2. meltdblog
    27 March, 2017

    The chicken and egg problem is interesting, appliance manufacturers won’t build anything without the market in place, and there is little other use of a smart meter for the customer. Why the utilities like smart meters so much is they can extract more profits in several ways:
    Automated reading and billing, eliminating many jobs.
    Ability to remote disconnect/reconnect the power at end of contract or non-payment.
    Minute by minute usage data allowing time of use based tariffs.

    Be happy you have some choices, in Victoria (Australia) the households were charged directly for the installation costs even for renters, while the utility companies got all the benefits.

    • Brian
      28 March, 2017

      I’m likening this to putting petrol in a car; I’m paying for the fuel, I wouldn’t want to be informing the garage where I purchased it from which stretch of road I’m using most of it on and what time I arrived at my destination… after having paid for a device that does all that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 27 March, 2017 by in Technology and tagged , , , , , , .
