Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Anti-Medication

I’ve generally avoided taking medication for a number of years now. The last pills I took was a course of antibiotics for an ear infection; I wasn’t actually convinced the pills had assisted and it seemed to me that the infection passed on its own. This was perhaps five years ago now.

Back in my teens and early 20s I was routinely puffing on an inhaler for asthma and sticking nose spray up my nose for hayfever. I gradually weaned myself off these, while perhaps I suffered less as the years passed by.

While I accept that various people have various health issues, some of which are very serious, I always concentrate on my diet, exercise, and my own health in general before going to the doctors about an issue; this is perhaps why I haven’t seen a doctor for so many years (other than when I donated blood a few times) because if I don’t feel quite right I always look to what I might need to do first, from eating an apple each day, to drinking enough water, getting enough sleep, and getting enough sun. I think far too many people reach for a pill first.

I have numerous issue with medication, these include:

  1. The list of side effects
  2. Being dependent on pills
  3. The negative long-term effects
  4. The medical industry is big business

If you’re only going to take a pill as a one-off or for a short period of time then the side effects and long term effects might not be so worrisome, but if you routinely pop a pill for some ailment then I’m pretty sure there will be a cumulative effect. In addition to this you might be missing out on the chance for your body to deal with something on its own (which can mean there is less chance of that issue happening again), and mind-over-matter is a wonderful thing.

The pill dependency is something that can snowball over the years when you routinely take medication; I’ve seen far too many people taking pills to counteract the side effects and damage caused to them by other pills. In the worst case you just don’t wake up one day, not through a long-term illness, but because of the damage all the pills did to you.

This topic of medication was on the radio a few weeks ago but it was just now that I was following random links on Wikipedia and came across an alarming statement about Quinine. Quinine, like many/most[?] other modern medications, has natural roots; in this case it comes from the bark of a particular type of tree and was used by the indigenous people of South America. Here is that statement:

The wholesale price in the developing world [of Quinine] is about US$1.70 to $3.40 per course of treatment. In the United States a course of treatment is more than $200.

That’s quite a mark-up. Quinine is listed as one of “the most effective and safe medicines needed in a health system”, which probably explains the price tag in the US (I expect similar in other developed countries like here in the UK).

According to Wikipedia, the Quechuas people of South America would “mix the ground bark of cinchona trees with sweetened water to offset the bark’s bitter taste, thus producing tonic water.” Yes, we’re paying the medical industry $195, per course of treatment, to ground some bark!

Another consideration I had whilst I was following these links around Wikipedia was the topic of vaccinations and what harm they have on us. I recently watched the following insightful video of Dr. Suzanne Humphries:

Much of what Dr. Suzanne Humphries is an advocate of is “supporting the biology of the human being” and Youtube has now presented me with a plethora of further videos and lectures by her.

2 comments on “Anti-Medication

  1. Sarada Gray
    5 March, 2017

    Haven’t watched the video yet but my OH is a herbalist so I’d probably agree. I practise yoga as well and the doctor is always a last resort: however, without the thyroxine I now take for my underactive thyroid I’d be on my knees. This is not to say that, long-term, I might not be able to supplement and/or ultimately replace pills with yoga practice and herbs. But that’s a long-term goal

    • Brian
      5 March, 2017

      I wish you well, it’s an admirable goal.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 5 March, 2017 by in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
