Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Rules to live by

We all know The 10 Commandments, right? I’ll take that as a yes, now moving on.

I think rules to live by are best “inflicted” on one’s self, rather than trying to enforce them on others (although if you want to try any of the ones that follow, then feel free); just recently I came across a few other kind rule-things of a kind, the first one could work well as a daily challenge; perhaps stick it above your desk, whereas the others, being long lists and hard to absorb and take on in one fell swoop could be written individually on small slips of paper and chosen at random each day, especially the second list where some are more like daily proverbs. As always with these things I think they work best when you choose the ones that resonate well with you, and see where they take you.

The insane fast thing:

(as in ‘fasting’, not being super quick)

can_we_live_hereI came across this ‘thing’ in Sarah Alderson’s book about living in paradise.

For 21-days (by which time this will become the new you) follow these rules to this “fast”:

– no criticising
– no complaining
– no gossiping
– no negative language (this includes internal chatter too)
– no bitching [I’m thinking this comes under criticising, complaining, and negative language]

And the rule is, if you slip up, you forgive yourself and start the 21-day fast over again.

The secret of The Secret:

secret“The Secret” is a popular book by Rhonda Byrne which I read back in 2008. Then when I was passing some time in a local library today I happened upon a book about that book: The secret of The Secret by Karen Kelly, the following list is from this latter book, and so I give it that title:

  1. Accept your flaws and don’t dwell on them
  2. Adopt an optimistic outlook (this is not the same as positive thinking)
  3. Be a realist; don’t live through your fantasies
  4. Show more gratitude for what you have
  5. Don’t prejudge people or situations
  6. Observe what’s going on around you
  7. Manifest reasonable dreams by acting on them
  8. Relax
  9. Maintain social ties
  10. Care for yourself and others
  11. Laugh

Desiderata:

desiderataSince I had returned all my library books (bar one on Tai Chi and one on Pilates, which are more doing than reading) I turned to my small pile c/o Amazon; I wanted my own copy of one on Yoga I had borrowed since there were far too many pages of interest to scan and keep, and Amazon persuaded me to aim for free postage so I turned to my Wish List that until now had been growing rather than see me buy any of them. On this pile, which seemed like a nice bit of casual evening reading was a book of ‘Poems of Inspiration’ by Max Ehrmann (book titled The Desiderata of Happiness); I’m not sure how, why or when I added this to my Amazon Wish List (OK, the how is because I added it), but the Desiderata is apparently a world-famous poem, which forms yet another list of things (or rules if you will) to live by, here are some lines:

  • Go placidly amid the noise and the haste; keep peace in your soul
  • Remember what peace there may be in the silence
  • As far as possible, be on good terms with all people
  • Speak your truth quietly and clearly
  • Listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story
  • Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexations to the spirit
  • There will always be greater and lesser persons than yourself; if you compare yourself to others then you may become vain or bitter
  • Keep interested in your own career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time
  • Exercise caution in your business affairs, for the world is full of trickery
  • Be yourself
  • Do not feign affection
  • Don’t be cynical about love
  • Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth
  • Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune but do not distress yourself with dark imaginings
  • Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself
  • You are a child of the universe no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here
  • Be cheerful; strive to be happy
Leave a Reply

