Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Wonky Weather Warning #2

The Met Office Guy is just having a laugh this time, following on from my previous communication

wonky_weather2

Readers of my previous Wonky Weather Warning article will recall that I had discovered (and informed the Met Office) that there was no ground above 220m on the Isle of Anglesey.

Since they informed me that the weather warning “For the Isle of Anglesey” included further afield, and since they have now upped their high ground warnings from 300m to 400m (or downgraded perhaps), I wonder… “Where is the nearest patch of ground that is above 400m?”

Guess #1…

Snowdon… and according to Wikipedia (I love that resource) it “is [indeed] the highest mountain in Wales, at an elevation of 1,085 metres (3,560 ft) above sea level, and the highest point in the British Isles outside the Scottish Highlands.”

It lies (according to Google Maps) approximately 50 miles away from Anglesey. Once I’ve exhausted all of Anglesey’s lofty peaks (and become comfortable with cycling 100 miles in a day – I’ve only done it once) I should perhaps venture there.

wonky_weather2_map

When plotting a route on Google Maps that is to be undertaken by bicycle, like above, it kindly gives you a terrain chart… which not so helpfully is in feet and not meters (for the purpose of this exercise), but no matter, a quick conversion on www.metric-conversions.org tells me 400m = 1312ft. The terrain chart shows a journey that will climb to 1266ft above sea level, which is close enough since as far as I’m aware there isn’t a road that reaches the summit of Snowdon (Wikipedia will confirm this, I am sure).

wonky_weather2_to_snowdon

I then move my mouse pointer along the route whilst looking at the terrain chart to see where that first significant peak is…

And here it is… (some 30 miles away from Anglesey): a 2.5 mile stretch of road that climbs 719 ft in the space of that distance to reach 1280 feet above sea level:

wonky_weather2_climb

I think that will hurt my knees. Perhaps I’ll add it to my list of “When you really have nothing better to do / want to meet your match…” I mean: “Hill Climbs to Attack”. The best on Anglesey itself seem to be half the height and a couple of them I don’t find particularly pleasant.

Oh yes, Yellow warning of snow… “Don’t eat that.”

3 comments on “Wonky Weather Warning #2

  1. bribikes
    1 March, 2016

    What is wrong with yellow snow?

    šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 29 February, 2016 by in Cycling and tagged , , , , , .
