Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Wonky Weather Warning

weather_warning

When I checked the weather for tomorrow on the Isle of Anglesey where I live, I was confused by the presence of the weather warning symbol – it was to be a day of sunshine with winds relatively low (we’ve seen 50+mph over recent months).

I scrolled down the page to read the warning in detail and noted the warning that there was a possibility of slight snowfall on higher ground… “Yay!” I thought (I like snow), but then I wondered, “How much of this island is above 300m?”

It turns out: “none”…

Anglesey is a relatively low-lying island with hills spaced evenly over the north of the island. The highest six are:

  1. Holyhead Mountain (220 metres (720 ft));
  2. Mynydd Bodafon (178 metres (584 ft));
  3. Mynydd Llaneilian (177 metres (581 ft));
  4. Mynydd y Garn (170 metres (560 ft));
  5. Bwrdd Arthur (164 metres (538 ft)) and
  6. Mynydd Llwydiarth (158 metres (518 ft)).

Source: Wikipedia

I have politely informed the Met Office; perhaps they’ll correct me, in which case I will be somewhat embarrassed.

EDIT: – they replied promptly with:

“You are quite right in what you say but the warning covers a region rather than just Anglesey itself … Although it states that snow showers may fall ‘chiefly’ above 300m it doesn’t rule out any below 300m so the risk is still there. I hope this helps?”

5 comments on “Wonky Weather Warning

  1. bribikes
    22 February, 2016

    Oh dear, that is quite funny.

  2. hiddenhoarder
    23 February, 2016

    I can’t wait to hear what they say!

    • Brian
      23 February, 2016

      “You are quite right in what you say but the warning covers a region rather than just Anglesey itself … Although it states that snow showers may fall ‘chiefly’ above 300m it doesn’t rule out any below 300m so the risk is still there. I hope this helps?”

  3. Pingback: Anglesey High Point #2 | Brian's Blog

  4. Pingback: Wonky Weather Warning #2 | Brian's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 22 February, 2016 by in Internet, Services and tagged , , , .
