Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Climate Change Blame Game

Back in February (2014) I began typing this post… I kept saving it to my Drafts without finishing it, and then I did the same in October (2014), so finally I’ll now get it finished…

It must be a good few year’s since Al Gore’s ‘An Inconvenient Truth’ aired on TV in the UK, but the film stayed with me. I think I liked it because it seemed that someone had finally gathered the facts together and displayed them in a clear, indisputable way, demonstrating that we are causing the Earth’s climate to change, drastically, and what the effects and dangers are and will be if left unchecked.

I have always had the mind-set that we are responsible for this planet of ours, that we need to look after it, and in true Ray Mears bush-tracker style, we should leave it how we find it (or ideally better off). Recycling as much waste as possible, turning lights off in rooms that aren’t being used and not driving a car unnecessarily all form part of this mind-set. However, I recognise that not everyone lives like this, some people fail to see that the attitude of “What difference can I make?” actually scales up to “A big difference” when everyone chips in and plays their part. Accepting that we, as individuals, are all responsible for the health of this planet is important, so being shown clearly that we are each responsible for global warming is important too.

Some people disagree with the fact/idea/possibility (whatever you want to call it) that we are responsible for climate change, but I think that’s besides the point.

Having this attitude of “What difference can I make?” or worse, “It’s not my problem [someone else can clean up the mess.]” or not even thinking about it as if it is a problem that will just sort itself out, perhaps within a few generations, is a sorry attitude to have. Therefore, when someone disputes that man is causing global warming, it sounds like they are endorsing reckless and Earth-harming behaviour by us humans. I do accept that the Earth, and Sun, go through phases which can cause the climate to change, but Al Gore’s presentation showed to me that the extreme changes that we have seen since the Industrial Revolution are caused by the way we burn fossil fuels.

chilling_starsYou can understand my concern, therefore, when I picked up the book The Chilling Stars by Henrik Svensmark and Nigel Calder (back in February 2014) because it’s all about how the stars are actually the cause of climate change.

Anyway, that’s as far as my efforts went in writing about this… I just wanted to get these paragraphs out of my Drafts folder.

I’ve written before about my cycling, recycling and energy-saving efforts.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 16 April, 2015 by in Books, Cycling, Psychology, Science, Technology and tagged , , , .
