Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

SETI@home Milestones

As you may well know, or you will if you click here [link], I have been a SETI@home participant for over 15 years.

In the early years of the project that searches for E.T.s there were many many participants, and my efforts were low. I think I remember being around 200th in the UK, but I stuck around, and when I finally got full-time internet at home and few more computers, my persistence paid off. And now, just this month, I climbed to 6th in the UK, and my total credit passed the 100,000,000 mark.

seti_6th

seti_100k_graph

I’m pretty chuffed.

However, with my RAC (current average) hovering around the same position, I’m getting itchy fingers – it has been over two years since I bought a new graphics card (the main component in each of my computers that does the number crunching for the project). But do I perhaps replace a couple of my dated Nvidia 460s, or remain settled with my current effort, or perhaps even dial back my efforts now that I have passed this point? After all, even if I make improvements, my next step up the ladder will not take place for a while.

seti_2015upgrade

2 comments on “SETI@home Milestones

  1. Pingback: SETI@home, Computers, SSDs, and Windows 10 | BMH Online

  2. Pingback: SETI@home efforts – March to September | BMH Online

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 9 February, 2015 by in Computers, SETI@home and tagged , , , , .
