Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Long-Winded WordPress

one_does_not_simply_wordpress

Ok, so they fixed it so it remembers that I prefer the traditional Add New Post page, phew.

But now when I visit wordpress.com, how does one easily get to their Dashboard?!

wordpress_no_dashboard

Long ago before the plague of the blue-bar’d-ness I would log in and arrive at the Dashboard.

I consulted WordPress’s help section and found this:

The Dashboard is the first screen you see when you log into the administration area of your blog. The main idea of the dashboard is to give you a place where you can get an at-a-glance overview of what’s happening with your blog. This support doc covers the various modules that make up the Dashboard.

But one does not simply log into the administration area. What I do is, once logged in, I visit my actual blog, then I get the traditional black/grey/gray “Admin Bar” across the top of the page, where I can navigate as normal to my Dashboard.

The help section contains some irony in regards to the Admin Bar:

You may have noticed a gray bar that appears at the top of your pages when logged into your WordPress.com account. This gray bar is called the Admin Bar and it is an easy-to-access toolbar with shortcuts to many of the WordPress.com features you already know and love. This support doc contains information on all the features of the Admin Bar to help you get the most out of your WordPress.com experience. [my emphasis]

“You may have noticed”!? I’ve noticed that it’s becoming increasingly hard to find.

Another way to get to the Dashboard/see the Admin bar is to click on Stats, then on that page look for the little Home icon over near the left.

wordpress_stats_home_icon

The reason I have to take this long-winded approach is because the basic blue bar (for tablet users?) now lacks a route to the Dashboard… I thought it was via my icon at the top right, but no. I tried settings but that’s only for my profile, not my actual blog. Also, if one goes into the My Sites button over on the left, and then tries to go through the user icon on the right to Settings, nothing happens.

wordpress_dashboard

Also accessible via: https://%5Byour blog].wordpress.com/wp-admin

You can read more about my WordPress blue-bar rants here: https://bmhonline.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/post-to-your-blog-in-classic-mode/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 23 October, 2014 by in Blogging, Internet and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
