Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Twitter takes the shine off fame

There is this world where normal people seek likes and followers. A world where people think they can be just like the famous, if only they behave like them (but without the talent).

With the rise of famous people posting their every little thought, and make-upless selfies, is it not that some famous people are lowering the bar for us mere mortals?

I like my famous people to be people to aspire too, something glossy and unreachable, unobtainable, make-up clad (to a point) and airbrushed. I don’t mean this in a shallow sense – I like to think of them as living in this other world the rest of us can only dream of.

And I like it to remain a dream, to only exist in Hollywood.

I don’t want the fast cars, the endless money, I certainly don’t want the fame, and I really don’t want the make-up, or to have my photos airbrushed (unless you can do something about my nose).

However, my level of aspiration has declined for the famous that jump on social networking sites and present themselves like the rest of us. I don’t know who Andrew Garfield is (he has the name of a cat, so he must be all right), but I sat up and took note when I read the following:

Andrew Garfield refuses to use micro-blogging site Twitter as he is not a fan of self promotion. The 30-year-old actor said he steers clear of social media as he does not feel comfortable telling the world about his life, reported Digital Spy.
There is something crass about self-promotion. I can’t do the Twitter thing either. Maybe there is something wrong with me. Maybe I need to be better at saying ‘Check me out’. I should do that. ‘Yeah, so go see the movie, because it’s the best thing that you will ever see!’, he said. – [link] My emphasis

How refreshing, and wise. I just hope I don’t receive too much attention this post.

[/attention seeker]

Leave a Reply

