Brian's Blog

…one man's contribution to the Weeeeerly Wild World

Scientists find energy in coffee

A headline in The Independent amused my interest a couple of days ago when I read that “Waste coffee grounds can power vehicles.” [link]

I suppose it initially amused me because I was in a cafe sipping a mug of the stuff at the time and I was tempted to enquire what the barista (the job title they put on their CV) does with the waste grounds – I watch the machine running the hot water through the grounds into each cup and then the grounds are discarded, much the same as tea.

I was further amused by my recollection of Back to the Future at the end of Part I and the beginning of Part II when Doc pulls up in the Delorian (which has been modified in the future) and refuels it with waste from a garbage can – one of the modifications is the addition of the ‘Mr Fusion’ system which is it what provides that ability.

back_to_the_future1

back_to_the_future2

The third thing to amuse me was my understanding of the science behind the headline, which seems to be amiss in the latest claims/findings – all stuff contains energy. From my findings 100g of instant coffee granuals contains around 63kCal [link] I don’t know the capacity of the thingymiwozit a coffee machine uses. But with all this in mind, it’s hardly surprising that a car can be made to run on used coffee grounds, in fact it has been done before [link].

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 19 June, 2014 by in News, Science, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , .
